Sweet Swap

My blog buddy and fellow 365er is hosting a sweet swap today!  Come join the fun.  Just post a recipe on your blog and link up to hers!

I have to tell you first that I was planning on making one thing but had so many issues that I had to go to plan B.  You see, Rich has many memories of his mom making various kinds of candies through the years.  A few years ago she gave us a set of some of these recipes to have.  So I thought I’d make her recipe for taffy for the sweet swap.

4x6 DSC_0542wm

First Batch of Taffy - looks good!

 

Well the first batch went wrong.  I think her recipe was actually for something else.  It got horribly hard and fast – more like a candy mold for suckers (which she made).  We thought about it and did an internet search to see what we could find.  Another recipe was found and so we tried that.  It was a little better, but not right still.  Rich and I burned our fingers too.

4x6 DSC_0576wm

Second batch after we pulled it till it pulled no more

So after that I thought what else could I make.  And then it hit me.  I have a favorite cookie that I’ve never made myself.  My mom always makes it for me.  I can’t believe that I’ve never made them… till today.  Oh they are so good and can be so much fun for the holidays.  They are called Lace Cookies.

4x6 DSC_0764wm

Lace Cookies

You’ll need:

  • 1 cup regular oats
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup melted butter
  • 3 T. flour
  • 1/4 tea salt
  • 1/2 tea vanilla
  • 1/4 tea baking powder
  • 1 egg

Mix all dry ingredients and add slightly beaten egg, vanilla, and melted butter.  Drop 1/2 tea. dough on foil (I used parchment paper) covered cookie sheets.  Separate well; they spread!  Bake at 350 for 8-10 min. or until golden brown.  Cool on foil (or parchment paper) then peel off carefully. 

Some other ideas:  Before they cool roll them into tubes.  You can leave them like that or dip them in chocolate.  Also, you could dip the flat ones in chocolate too!  These melt in your mouth – I know you’ll love them!

Now hop over to Katie’s to see some other recipes and post your own sweet swap!

(and just so you know, I still have NO internet at home.  I love Katie so much I came to the library to post this!)

4 thoughts on “Sweet Swap

  1. Wow – taffy just sounds like a lot of work!!! I’m sorry the recipes didn’t go as planned. I’ve heard of lace cookies before, but I don’t think I’ve ever had them – I may just have to try this!

    I was wondering if you’d make the swap with no internet! But you did – at the library – that’s so sweet of you!! I think I’m gonna cry!

  2. I have never had lace cookies. I can’t wait to try them out!!! So sorry your taffy didn’t work out. You did better than I ever would have. I cringe at the thought of trying to make that stuff.

Leave a comment