Homeschool Planet Review

bcuw7wzkz_r969_f6

At the beginning of the school year I had the opportunity to begin review a product offered through Homeschool Buyers Co-op. It is called Homeschool Planet and is an online planner for your school and life.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 3.41.50 PM

Now, I am not a great planner by myself.  For a few years I have been using a spreadsheet to print up each child’s assignments that they need to complete in the week.  Although some things didn’t change much, it was another thing I had to do at the end of the week to get ready for the following week.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 3.40.39 PM

In comes Homeschool Planet were I can schedule the entire year of work for each child pretty easily.  I could tell it what days we did school and when we would be off.  Then as I added classes I could tell it what days of the week I wanted those classes to appear on the schedule and personalize it more by adding assignments to that class.  Each class can get a different color so that when you are looking at the schedule you can easily see what is going on that day.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 3.39.37 PM

Homeschool Planet did not take long to learn and their customer service was wonderful about getting back to me quickly if I had a question or a problem.

Screen Shot 2015-01-05 at 3.40.17 PM

At the beginning of each week I open the program and am prompted to let Homeschool Planet know if any of the assignments/classes did not get completed.  I can check a few options – some that will add it to the next week, push the whole year ahead to fit an unfinished assignment in, or just that it was completed.  Then I choose to print each schedule for each child.  I use the economy print because I do not want it in color and I choose one student at a time.  They place these on clipboards and check off as they go about their day.

4x6 DSC_9067web

There are more features that I have not used – like email and text reminders of assignments, to do lists, shopping lists and even adding your google calendar to the Homeschool Planet.  You can even view the planner on your mobile device.

You can try Homeschool Planet with their 30 day free trial.  I look forward to continuing to use this program as it has fit our school quite nicely and helped me to keep things schedule and on top of what assignments are begin completed.

Check out the rest of the team’s reviews at Home & School Mosaic!

discstatement

Leave a Reply

