Chocolate Friday – a Classic

These are my all time favorite cookie.  Whenever I’m craving a cookie this is the one I make.  16 years ago I won my husband’s stomach with them when we were dating and they still are the perfect cookie.  I think everyone has a tried and true Chocolate Chip Cookie recipe, but if you don’t, here’s mine.  Passed down to me from my mom, and will be passed down to those in my family.  Enjoy!

Chocolate Chip Cookies

  • 1 cup butter, softened
  • 1 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 12 oz chocolate chips

In large mixer bowl, cream butter and sugars.  Add eggs and vanilla; blend well.  Sift together flour, salt, and baking soda.  Add gradually to butter mixture blend well.  Stir in chips.  Form into balls and place on cookie sheet.  Bake at 375 for 10 – 13 minutes.

Notes:  I always chill my dough after I mix it – keeps the cookies from spreading out so much.  Also, when I store them I put a piece of bread in the container so that the cookies stay soft.  Just replace the bread when it gets stale {if your cookies last that long!}.  Oh, and the recipe originally called for 1 cup nuts, but I don’t like nuts.

Update:  I now scoop the dough with my medium cookie scoop and freeze them.  Then when I want a cookie {or more} I can just pop some out onto the pan.  Just freeze them on a cookie sheet and when hard, store in a freezer bag {or just make them all the same day}.

Be sure to check out Lisa’s today.  Instead of Chocolate Friday, she uses the first Friday of the month to host any dessert recipe!

6 thoughts on “Chocolate Friday – a Classic

  1. My favourite, planning on making some tomorrow. I did happy dancing when I found semi sweet chocolate chips in the UK – milk chocolate chips are a) smaller and b) just don’t taste right!

  2. Mmmm….I love your Friday posts, did you know that?! 🙂 I always use the recipe off the chocolate chip bag, but I’ll have to try yours…perhaps this afternoon!!

  3. Pingback: Chocolate Friday – It’s Truffle Time « Knit1Kids4

Leave a comment