Chocolate Friday ~ Junior Mints

I have a cookie exchange today.  First one!  We were to bring three dozen cookies and I couldn’t decide what to make.

Should I make a recipe I know and love?

Should I try something new?

I debated… talked with my girl.  We decided new.

And while the cookie was good, the making of them was quite messy and a bit of a process trying to get three dozen nice looking cookies to come to the exchange with me.   But I managed and have some tips for you if you give them a try.

First, don’t crowd your baking dish.  As much as you want to stop going to the kitchen every 10-12 minutes, put less on a pan {8 worked well for me}.

Second, let them sit on the pan and cool for about 15 minutes.  Really…. wait.  Otherwise the cookies will mush together as you try to get them off the pan.

Third, understand that they will not all come out pretty little round cookies.  The Junior Mints sometimes melt out of the baking cookie.  You can try to “correct” that when they come out of the oven by shaping it back together but melted junior mints is like hot lava waiting to cool on your spatula into hard rock.  I decided, after washing my spatula a few times, to let them be the blobs they wanted to be and enjoy those happy cookies who were staying in the shape I wanted.  In the end, they are edible for my children no matter what shape.

The recipe comes from Picky Palate.  I doubled it and used my Black Cocoa {1/2 cup of it 1/2 cup Hershey Dark}.

Double Chocolate Junior Mint and Chip Cookies

  • 1 stick unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1/2 cup light brown sugar, packed
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 cup mini chocolate chips
  • 4 ounce box Junior Mints

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. and line a large baking sheet with a silpat liner or parchment paper.
  2. In a large mixing bowl or stand mixer, beat the butter and sugars until well combined. Add eggs and vanilla mixing to combine. Add flour, cocoa powder, baking soda and salt, mixing to combine. Stir in chocolate chips then smash in Junior Mints. All mints need to be completely smashed into the dough. Chill dough for a couple hours or overnight for best results.
  3. With medium cookie scoop, place dough 1 inch apart. Bake for 10-12 minutes, until baked through. Please note, if mints ooze out of cookies, use a plastic knife to form cookies back to round shape right out of the oven when hot. Let cool for 15 minutes before transferring to cooling rack.

Makes 2 dozen cookies

One thought on “Chocolate Friday ~ Junior Mints

Leave a Reply

