Chocolate Friday: Apples

I am ready for fall to begin tomorrow – are you?  I think it is my favorite season.  Apples had a tough season here with the HOT March and then a cold spell killing so many of the blossoms.  Lack of rain in the summer didn’t help – I hear some orchards you can’t even go pick at this year!  Is it like that in your area too?

This is a reposting, but I am making it today for a Mommy Chocolate Spa night tonight.  Sounds like a great time!  It really is a fall favorite in our house!

This recipe is from my Mom’s kitchen.  I had to take a dessert to a friend’s house and I thought this would be a good cake since it is fall and apples are in season.  When I was talking to my Mom about it she had memories of her Mom’s love of Apple Cake.  It was  a sweet memory to hear and hold onto.  She also said something that made me laugh.  We were talking about all the wonderful things you can do with apples and she says “You know, apples are like the ground beef of fruit.  They are so versatile.”  That is a pretty true statement.  You can eat them, bake goodies with them {my favorite is Apple Dumplings}, and cook with them.  You can make side dishes, main dishes, snacks… just all kinds of things can be done with apples.  Now onto the recipe, which, I have to add, was published in a local paper years ago.  Yep, my Mom’s name was in the paper.

Chocolate Apple Cake

  • 3 cups apples, pared and diced
  • 1 cup medium finely chopped walnuts
  • 2 cups sifted all-purpose flour
  • 1 1/2 cups sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1 tsp. each baking soda, salt, cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp. nutmeg
  • 1/4 tsp. allspice
  • 2 eggs
  • 3/4 cup cooking oil

Into large mixing bowl, resift flour with sugar, cocoa, soda, salt, and spices.  Add egg, cooking oil and 1 cup of the apples.  Beat 3 minutes with mixer at medium speed, scraping bowl frequently.  Stir in remaining apples and walnuts.  Pour into greased 9×13.  Bake at 350 for about 40 minutes or until cake tests done.  Cool before cutting.

{The batter is VERY thick when you are done mixing it.  Also, I did not use walnuts as I was taking it where there is a nut allergy.}

3 thoughts on “Chocolate Friday: Apples

Leave a Reply

