Repost Chocolate Friday: Hummus

**My husband is on vacation this week so I did some pre-posting and did not want to bake.  Here is another one of our favorites**

Yep, Hummus for Chocolate Friday.  You did not read wrong.  Chocolate Hummus that is.  I was browsing the wonderful web for another recipe and I got thinking about hummus.  I have not made it in a long time.  For some reason I see it only as a summer item.  Weird.

As I was browsing I wondered if anyone had ever tried a chocolate hummus.  I certainly did not think it would be a “true” hummus with chickpeas.  I found quite a few recipes and to my surprise they did contain chickpeas.  It’s almost healthy for you!

I added the ingredients to my shopping list and whipped it up in my Magic Bullet.  I’m not sure that was the best choice for mixing it up though.  It is a bit thick and I had to restir it many times.  Next time I’ll use my food processor.

It was very easy to make and the taste – seriously this stuff is GOOD!  I got chocolate graham crackers, strawberries, and bananas to serve with it.  Other crackers and fruit would be good too.  My children loved it and after I finished the photos we quickly cleaned that plate!

Chocolate Hummus

  • 1 (15 oz.) can chickpeas, drained and rinsed
  • 2 tbsp. olive oil
  • 1/2 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 cup sugar (or your favorite substitute)
  • 1 tsp. vanilla
  • 1/2 tsp. salt
  • 2 – 4 tbsp. warm water

Put all ingredients in a blender/food processor BUT the water.  Mix and add water as needed for the consistency you like.  {I used 4 Tablespoons}

2 thoughts on “Repost Chocolate Friday: Hummus

Leave a Reply

