Chocolate Friday – Homemade Ice Cream

My husband and I are HUGE ice cream lovers.  My love started when I was just a wee one.  My Mom recounts me finishing my bath and then “swishing” down the hallway in my footie jammies pointing to the freezer for ice cream.  My first taste was of a Dairy Queen cone which caused me to scream in delight and horror when it was taken away.  My Mom laughs at that story and seems to remember it in such great detail… I hope I can hold onto the memories of my children as well.

Anyhoo… because of our love my husband likes to make his own.  He doesn’t do this very often and I don’t know why.  His creations are always delightful.  This week he made a chocolate base and then we added crushed Grasshopper cookies {a mint cookie, no grasshoppers were harmed} to the end of the mixing.  If you have an ice cream maker, give this a try.  It was a wonderful chocolate.

Chocolate Ice Cream

  • 3/4 cup whole milk
  • 1/3 cup granulated sugar
  • 4-6 ozs. bittersweet or semi-sweet chocolate, broken into 1/2″ pieces
  • 1 1/2 cups heavy cream, well chilled
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Heat the whole milk until it is bubbling around the edges.  In a blender, or food processor, pulse to process the sugar with the chocolate until the chocolate is very finely chopped.  Add the hot milk;  process until well blended and smooth.  Transfer to a medium bowl and let the chocolate mixture cool completely.  Stir in the heavy cream and vanilla to taste.  Chill for 30 minutes longer.

Turn the machine ON, pour mixture into freezer bowl and let mix until thickened, about 20 to 25 minutes*.  The ice cream will have a soft creamy texture.  If desired, transfer the ice cream to an airtight container and place in freezer until firm, about 2 hours to “ripen”.

*If you add in anything use about 1/4 – 1/3 cup and add in during the last 5 minutes of freezing.

{We used semi sweet chocolate chips.  We also double this recipe, but we have a Cuisinart Flavor Duo machine that we got for free years ago.}

4 thoughts on “Chocolate Friday – Homemade Ice Cream

Leave a Reply

