Book Review: Transforming Church in Rural America

On a whim I picked this book from BookSneeze to review.  I really didn’t think it would have any relevance to me as I live in the middle of a large city and I go to a “city” church.  But curiosity got the better of me and I wondered what the book was all about.  I was not disappointed.

Shannon O’Dell wrote this based on his experience becoming a somewhat unwilling pastor to a rural church of 31 members.  We hear how he felt God calling him from youth ministry to lead pastor and then how he guided him right to a rural church.  Shannon isn’t shy about telling the reader that this was the FARTHEST thing that he wanted to do.  But, as you can guess, he took the job and then let God lead him to make the church into what is today – a multi campus church with over 2000 members.

Throughout the book Shannon gives you the play by-play of how he grew the church, the obstacles he came across {the pew benches had me cracking up… I so understood that}, and the encouragement to make it happen where you are.

This book made an impact on me.  You see, I go to a city church, but we are in the midst of growing pains.  A relatively new pastor {but the only one I’ve known at this church} and those who just like things they way they’ve been.  Sometimes I feel so stuck in the mud and discouraged.  Shannon reminded me who I’m serving and that if I only let God work through me He will work out the details.  I will be passing this book on and praying it helps encourage others around me.

***I was given this book free from BookSneeze in return for giving my honest opinion of the book***

2 thoughts on “Book Review: Transforming Church in Rural America

  1. I saw this book and also felt it would have no revelance for me. So picked another. Now I wonder about my decsion! So different than the title suggest. I shall have to see if I have another chance at it. Thanks for the review.

  2. I was close to picking this one too, but I didn’t. Glad to hear it’s a good one! We also go to a “city” church. But I grew up in a rural church and my in-laws go to one now. I’ll be sure to get this one next, if I can! I’m glad you reviewed it, thanks for sharing your thoughts!! :)

Leave a Reply

